The effects of sub-zero temperatures on Hope



What gives you hope? It’s a funny question. The answer depends a lot on mood, circumstances, inclination to openness… For example, I could say now – rather flippantly, but with perfect honesty – that my hopes are pinned on the coming of spring. (And not just for the coming of baseball and the hopes I have pinned on this …) It’s cold here in Minne-snow-tah. So cold in fact, that I wonder if perhaps some mean-spirited fate doesn’t mean to punish me by turning me into a penguin.

Or perhaps, it’s so cold outside because that’s how I feel on the inside. There’s not lot of immediate sunshine and joy in my life just now. And I can’t tell if THAT’s circumstantial, or entirely a product of my own making. With work being especially crazy, and one of my favorite people moving literally half way around the world, I don’t naturally feel overwhelmed with joy just now. And yet, last night I made dinner for some of my oldest and dearest friends, and we sat up far too late. Talking. Laughing. Being silly. And I felt lighter. Certainly there is joy out there. I’m just mad at the world that I have to work for it right now.

Or perhaps I could talk about hope in a bigger, more philosophical sense.

What do I hope for me? What do I hope for those in my life? Or in the world? [Because surely “hope” is better when it’s applied to the greater good, right?? …Happiness? Clean water? Free beer? Plenty for all?]

I live in a country that sells a lot of sound-bites on hope. With a president who carried more than a few votes in the election on the hopes that he could change things. So is hope “change?” Or is it the faith in the idea that change can happen.

But none of that really answers the question: “what gives me hope?”

So, some answers:

  •  The pure joy that is my three-year-old niece.
  •  Coffee. Coffee gives me hope that I’ll wake up enough to function.
  • The unlooked-for blessings: good friends, opportunities, and the breathtakingly beautiful.

It must be said that it is the little things that give me hope.

And as hard as I may work some days to hold on to hope, and to hold out for hope, I think I’ll always come down on the side of hoping is better than not. But here’s hoping that it will be easier to find hope soon.

About bethanyrgrimm

Traveler. Coffee addict. Nerd. Fashionista. Baseball aficionado. Bethany Grimm (née Rein) is a twenty-something professional living in sunny and warm St Paul. She drinks too much coffee and reads too many books. But in her defense, she can explain the in-field fly rule and change her own oil, so at least she's a well-rounded nerd. An avid runner, Bethany also plays recreational sports with more enthusiasm than skill. You may find her telling the men in her life to put on a tie already.
This entry was posted in Random thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The effects of sub-zero temperatures on Hope

  1. Pingback: A big blog post about taking big risks | Fueled by coffee

Leave a Reply

