For the love of baseball

image

It’s no big secret that I am a baseball fan. Perhaps, even a fanatic. 

I love the statistics, and the probabilities inherent in every match-up.  Warm June evening games and late October pennant runs.  Over-priced hot dogs and world-weary stadium vendors.  The clutch hit that wins the game, or the diving stop that’s guaranteed to be on ESPN later.

I grew up with baseball, and I credit Cal Ripken, Jr. and the late 80s/early 90s Orioles for teaching me the great American pastime and making me love it with a devotion that’s far outstripped any sort of other relationship to date.

I root for the Twins these days, because I’ve now lived longer in Minnesota than anywhere else – but my feelings about baseball haven’t changed.

It’s still the best game in town. 

I went to my first game of the season tonight, and I don’t know that I could have asked for better.  A ludicrously gorgeous spring day giving way to the kind of evening that makes you realize they were right to make Target Field without a roof.  What else could be our reward for surviving one of the snowiest winters on record? My body produced Vitamin D all on its own for the first time in months … and all this fresh air might be making me a little drunk.

And the game.  A ten inning affair with all the trappings of high baseball drama: rookie heroics, Jim Thome pinch-hitting in the eighth [to the wild delight of all, myself included…] trying to break a tie, Joe Nathan tossing the most effortless 1-2-3 ninth seen in a long while, a throwing error and a dropped center field fly …. all culminating in a walk-off tenth inning single with the bases loaded. 

It was piranha baseball in a way the Twins really do best.

And I loved every minute of it.

They may well break my heart with another first round play-off exit at the hands of those dastardly Yankees come the fall … but tonight I will just love them.

About bethanyrgrimm

Traveler. Coffee addict. Nerd. Fashionista. Baseball aficionado. Bethany Grimm (née Rein) is a twenty-something professional living in sunny and warm St Paul. She drinks too much coffee and reads too many books. But in her defense, she can explain the in-field fly rule and change her own oil, so at least she's a well-rounded nerd. An avid runner, Bethany also plays recreational sports with more enthusiasm than skill. You may find her telling the men in her life to put on a tie already.
This entry was posted in Baseball makes me happy, Random thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to For the love of baseball

  1. Pingback: Superstition and the runner | Fueled by coffee

Leave a Reply

