Weekly Photo Challenge: Journey

“Journey” is a familiar word.

You could say I’ve got the wanderlust. After college, I moved to Scotland (where I had the opportunity to get a student work visa). When my visa was up, I backpacked for almost six weeks around Western Europe. I traveled by air, and train, and boat, and most certainly, by foot.   And, I took a few pictures …

The ferry that took me from Algeciras, Spain to Tangier, Morocco. Gateway to a new world, I think I took this picture mostly because I liked the bright colors. 🙂

The train station in Genova, Italy. And amazingly enough, photographic evidence of an impulse in the making. In 2007, I hopped on this train on Easter Sunday - feeling a little homesick for my family and a little lost about where to go next. I headed for a little town called Riomaggiore, and found my own little slice of heaven.

In the Italian Riviera, between Genova and Pisa, there is an area of five little towns known as the Cinque Terre. Now a UNESCO World Heritage site, these little villages clinging precipitously to the countryside overlooking the crystal blue waters were so remote that they were only accessible by carefully worn footpaths. These days, the trains come through, but the paths have become a national park. Visitors come in droves to hike from town to town, and enjoy the view (and the workout).

About bethanyrgrimm

Traveler. Coffee addict. Nerd. Fashionista. Baseball aficionado. Bethany Grimm (née Rein) is a twenty-something professional living in sunny and warm St Paul. She drinks too much coffee and reads too many books. But in her defense, she can explain the in-field fly rule and change her own oil, so at least she's a well-rounded nerd. An avid runner, Bethany also plays recreational sports with more enthusiasm than skill. You may find her telling the men in her life to put on a tie already.
This entry was posted in Random thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Journey

  1. Carolyn says:

    WOW . . . I still get a thrill out of “reliving” these times through your pictures. Reading your comment about Easter 2007 brought a lump to my throat, again. Now that these adventures are past — and I don’t have to be a worried Mother — I am glad that you had these opportunities. Never lose your Wanderlust!!

  2. frizztext says:

    we’ve been in Genova too (our honeymoon) – we’ve been very impressed by this city – and there was an elevator, we will never forget …

Leave a Reply

