Year in review

A “year in review” post indicates that there’s plenty to sum up. However, a glance at the history of this blog makes it look like that might be a reach.  One post in August hardly seems worthy of year that needs a post to sum it all up.

But, it’s the end of December and thoughts naturally turn to summation.

The blog has suffered from a small little problem known as my life got too crazy, and I just couldn’t keep up. For starters, I got married in September.  A year ago, this definitely wasn’t something contemplated in the resolutions. And yet … it’s definitely at the top of the highlight reel.  🙂

Because planning a wedding in six months is just not enough change, I also switched Adult Jobs, quite the paying writing gig (only some many times you can write the same “Best of” article and not repeat places when you can only use “local” options), and moved across the Twin Cities (and back to St Paul). So much change. So much of it has been good. But, because I need reminder of this lesson: good does not always mean easy.

And, boy isn’t that the truth! Occasionally the universe delights in the Foibles of Bethany … and in some ways, my approach to change this year has qualified for such a title. Somehow, I convinced myself: “I know this is Change, and I’m prepared for it to be tough.” Like, if I acknowledged Change’s entrance in the room I would level up in my ability to deal.

I think the Universe is still laughing.

Change is good. But it can be hard. (I’ve perpetually been sick since October.) And, often, the only way is through.  And, so that’s just what I’ve done.  Gone through, and come to December with some ideas about 2014.

1.  Write more.

2. Re-acquaint myself with the gym.  (Not least because Big Brother has announced his intent to run both a half and a full marathon this year. I’m simultaneously proud and totally aware how frustrated I will be when he crushes both of my half times. I swear I’d never run a half again – I just hate that distance – but I’ve never been smart enough to ignore competition).

3. Strive for a better balance. New priorities (Hello Husband!) mean that it’s time to do a better job of managing life.

So here is a Happy New Year to you all!   See you soon.

Bonus: logging in here means I can go check another “changed name” location off the list ..

About bethanyrgrimm

Traveler. Coffee addict. Nerd. Fashionista. Baseball aficionado. Bethany Grimm (née Rein) is a twenty-something professional living in sunny and warm St Paul. She drinks too much coffee and reads too many books. But in her defense, she can explain the in-field fly rule and change her own oil, so at least she's a well-rounded nerd. An avid runner, Bethany also plays recreational sports with more enthusiasm than skill. You may find her telling the men in her life to put on a tie already.
This entry was posted in Random thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

